Warmth Wins Heartland Prize for Nonfiction

The Warmth of Other Suns named winner of the 2011 Heartland Prize for Nonfiction. Fiction winner: Jonathan Franzen for Freedom. Previous winners include: Studs Terkel, Eric Larsen, Tim O’Brien, Jane Smiley, Annie Proulx, Taylor Branch, Ann Patchett, Alice Sebold, Rebecca Skloot. Granted by Chicago Tribune for books that “reinforce and perpetuate the values of heartland America.”